Milestones

  • 1917

    公立南洋女学校是一所专为女子开办的华校,刚成立时约有一百名学生。租用三角埔门牌7号店为校舍。

    校舍在多美歌七号的店屋内。余佩皋女士是第一任校长。

    如果我们从一些历史片段的记录、访谈和有关的人物来看,毫无疑问的,南洋女子中学校是由一群中国同盟会的主要领袖创办的。这些同盟会的会员,都是年轻有为的富商和知识青年。他们满怀热血和爱国情操,以行动改变了国运,也以行动改变了社会。

    首任校长余佩皋女士毕业于北京高等女子师范(即今北京师范大学)。她认为要办好一所学校,要有一批好的教师。她打破女校不能任用男教师的禁例,聘请男教师来任教。

  • 1919

    学校迁搬迁到多美歌十号店屋。

  • 1927

    刘韵仙女士任校长。

    刘韵仙校长原籍江西省,是家中独生女,少年时就具有坚强独立的性格,因此敢于独自出来闯天下。她在湖南长沙福湘中学毕业后,在湘潭三育学校教书。后来到北京,在燕京大学肄业。
    刘校长是一个主张女权自由、婚姻自由的女性,而提高妇女的知识是重要的事。这些因素促使她留在新加坡,决心把南洋女校办成一间最好的学校。

    为了实践女子教育开放的宗旨,使南洋地区的女子与中国国内的女子,都享有同样平等的教育权利,刘校长和校方便设法为学生们提供财政资助,让她们继续升学。这也成为南洋大家庭一贯的传统。至今,仍有无数南洋校友不遗余力地为母校的建设和教育做贡献。刘校长也时常自豪的传扬:我们是新马最高的女学府

  • 1930

    学校改名为"南洋女子中学校"。

  • 1931

    学校搬迁到肯士路的新校园。

    采用三三学制(三年中学、三年高中)。 

  • 1934

    学校开办幼稚园课程。

    为女生提供从幼稚园到高中的教育。

  • 1941

    太平洋战争爆发。

    学校关闭,校舍被军队征用。

  • 1945

    日军投降,学校在十二月复办,租用实里基路华人基督教青年会旧会所为临时校舍。

    日据时期结束后,在12月15日,南洋女中正式开学上课。前后只经过两个月的努力,就由零点到完成任务,效率奇高。她们的精诚群策、无私奉献的崇高精神,是值得后人感恩及敬佩的。 

  • 1946

    学校从临时校舍迁回肯士路校园。

    1946年6月,我校动员学生协助搬迁,这是同学把实里基路临时校舍的南中招牌拆下来,欢天喜地运回肯士路校园。

     

    肯士路校园全景

  • 1957

    学校接受政府的津贴,成为政府辅助学校。

  • 1961

    采用四二新学制(四年中学、两年高中)。

  • 1966

    刘韵仙校长退休,刘佩金女士继任校长。

    刘佩金校友继任校长,开此后继任的校长为校友的先河。
     
    刘佩金校长在任职前一直担任学校的训育主任并代理校长职务。1979年,她荣获薛尔斯总统委任为太平局绅。
     
    刘佩金校长于1995年病逝。同年,刘佩金基金设立,每年颁发奖助学金给家境贫困及学业成绩优异的在籍学生。

  • 1976

    刘佩金校长退休,蔡亮女士继任校长。

    蔡亮校长是南中校友。她因办学认真,功绩斐然,荣获总统颁赐公共行政功绩勋章。

    在她担任校长的18年里,蔡校长指导并见证了很多学校的教育改革。为适应环境的需求与配合两种语文教育政策的推行,她提倡并推行双语政策,使学生的英文程度提高到与华文同属第一语文的水准。
     
    蔡校长也积极引进新的教学工具。在她的推动下,学校建立了多媒体资料中心,为教学提供丰富的视听资源,让老师和同学们在课堂里广为应用,从中受益。

  • 1978

    中小学分开管理。

  • 1979

    本校成为特选中学之一,开设华文及英文两种第一语文课程。

    由于历年来会考成绩优异,又施行华英两种第一语文教学,学校遂为教育部遴选为九间双语特选中学之一。
     
    在教育部及董事会合力赞助下,本校遂设立一间设备齐全的视听资料中心。
     
    本校视听资料的制作与发展,因经多方努力耕耘,终于获得令人鼓舞的成就,而且积极参加教育机构所主办的视听教材展览会的展出。学生及老师所制作的作品,屡次得奖,深获好评。

  • 1984

    开设美术特选课程。

  • 1993

    本校转型为自主学校。总统夫人林秀梅校友受委为董事会主席。

    1993年9月16日,由新加坡报业控股印行《李光耀四十年政论选》举行首发仪式。其中有三十本珍藏本(每本一万元),一百五十本精装本(每本一千元),都由内阁资政李光耀先生亲笔签名,由热爱南中的人士捐款认购。后来李资政再为一百本精装本签名,总共为本校筹得五十五万元的发展基金。

    他说:这显示新加坡华人还是保留着过去大力支持教育事业的坚固传统,并认为捐助南洋女中是件有意义的事,因为这可使这所属于全国数一数二的女子中学,发展成一所顶尖的特选自主女校,并使得过去备受推崇的良好校风、良好纪律和学生举止端庄的传统华校精神,能够继续发扬光大。

    本校为了确保家庭贫困的孩子不会因学费太高而被拒于校门之外,提供多项奖助学金,让符合条件的穷苦学生申请而能顺利进入本校就读。
    从1993年1月1日开始,本校正式成为自主学校,很多对学生学业发展有益的新科目也随之引进。

    同年,王鼎昌总统夫人担任董事会主席。她对母校的热爱曾经打动无数人。她也是南洋小学、南洋女中和南洋女子宿舍的建筑设计师。

  • 1995

    蔡亮校长退休,颜丽珠女士继任校长。

    颜丽珠校友担任校长,她也成为学校的第十二任校长,也是第三位担任校长的校友。
     
    颜丽珠校长毕业于新加坡大学攻读物理系,继之在国大进修教育,毕业后在曾先后担任丹绒加东女校副校长及中华中学校长。

  • 1999

    学校成为高才教育课程中心之一。

    学校迁移到林登路校园。南洋女生宿舍启用。

    黄美云女士受委为董事会主席。

    学校成为高才教育中心,两个中一班级、37名中一新生开始了首届高材教育课程。
     
    2月18日,本校的新校舍终于矗立于武吉知马上段的公路旁。这座具有古典风格,设色立体,结构对称的建筑群很是显眼,尤其是傍晚,配上灯光照明,辉煌璀璨,更凸显她的壮观气派,观者莫不赞叹欣羡。
     
    6月6日,在总统夫人林秀梅校友挥旗之后,“万人行”庆典正式开始,路线覆盖Kings` Road, Lutheran Road,Coronation Road, Prince of Wales Road, Duchess Road, Bukit Timah Road,Dunearn Road, Linden Drive。总统王鼎昌先生也一同见证了这一特殊时刻。

    1999年底,黄美云女士接任董事会主席。黄女士早年肄业于南洋女中。1978年受邀回母校参加董事会,任助理财政职。1979年被董事会推选为学校监理员,统管南中、南小、南幼三校校务。黄女士爱护母校无微不至,劳心又劳力,多年来多次慷慨捐助校舍建筑费用。不论事务大小,能力所及,她皆亲力亲为,竭诚相助。校中大小庆典,必出席以示支持。

  • 2000

    内阁资政李光耀先生主持新校舍及女生宿舍开幕典礼。 我校开办剑桥普通教育(普通水准)音乐课程 。

    8月26日,新校舍开幕典礼敦请我国内阁资政李光耀先生主持揭幕仪式。他提到他的女儿李玮玲也是南洋女中的毕业生。他从女儿身上了解到南洋女中是一所校风良好和素质极佳的学校。他赞扬南洋女中是最突出的女子特选中学,这得归功于学校教职员的献身精神,以及社会人士,特别是校友的支持。他还特别提到了总统夫人林秀梅女士为母校做的贡献。她在设计校舍时的身份贵为总统夫人,除了亲自设计校舍,还为学校筹款。南洋女中的学生如今能在美丽的校园里上课,是因为校友和教职员具有远见,共同努力所取得的成果。

     

  • 2001

    颜丽珠校长调任义顺初级学院院长,麦丽英女士接任校长。

    麦丽英女士继任本校第十三任校长。麦校长于1982年获国大数学系荣誉学位,1983年获英国伦敦大学教育文凭,同年担任维多利亚中学数学和经济教师。在继任本校校长前,她曾任教育部国民教育司副司长。

     

  • 2002

    开办高级音乐课程。我校曾开办剑桥普通教育(普通水准)音乐课程 ,为2000年开办的高级音乐课程打下良好的基础。

  • 2004

    本校与华侨中学联办综合课程,第一批学生是168位中三学生。

    2004年1月,本校正式开办综合课程,合作的伙伴是华侨中学。综合课程的特点是学生无需参加“O”水准考试。在中四毕业后,南中的学生直接升入华侨中学高中部,两年后参加“A”水准考试。
     
    由于综合课程的学生无需参加“O”水准考试,使她们有更大的空间和时间参与其他更有意义、更有挑战性的活动。除了必修的核心课程之外,本校还为学生安排了不同科目的选修课程和深广活动,让学习变得更为生动有趣,也让学习延伸到课室以外的地方。
     
    在选修课的设计方面,综合课程学生每年至少有两个星期的选修课,学生根据自己的兴趣选择自己喜欢的课程。华文、英文、数学、科学、化学等科都设有选修课。还有生命科学、环境科学、中国古代数学、中国民间艺术、烹饪、马来文化、盆栽、词曲创作、电影欣赏、电脑动画设计等。
     
    学校为学生设立了海外浸濡学习与交流计划,即环球课室计划。

  • 2005

    为全体中一学生开办综合课程。开设双文化课程及语文特选课程(华文)。

    本校向来非常重视学生的双语教育。为了培养能够掌握双语、双文化的学生,本校开办了语文特选课程(华文) (Chinese Language Elective Programme)及双文化课程(华文)(Bicultural Studies Programme(C))。

     

  • 2006

    麦丽英校长调任香港新加坡国际学校校长,叶华珠女士接任校长。

    东区校群督学叶华珠女士继任本校第十四任的校长。叶校长毕业于新加坡大学。继之前往美国匹兹堡大学(University of Pittsburgh)深造,考获教育研究方法硕士学位。就任南中校长前,她曾担任教育部研究与评估司副司长。

  • 2007

    本校最后一批99位学生参加新加坡剑桥普通教育证书(普通水准)会考。

  • 2008

    本校获选为西区华文卓越中心。首届全级修读综合课程的学生毕业。本校成为全面推展综合课程的学校。

    2008年,学校成为华文与文化西区卓越中心。为了纪念这一特殊时刻,4月10日南中与通商中国联合举办、与教育部协办第二届特选中学研讨会。代理人力部部长严金勇先生为担任大会主宾。
     
    于此同时,学校举办了新加坡——上海学生论坛的开幕仪式,参与者包括所有特选中学及来自上海的老师和学生。大会主宾包括国家发展部兼教育部高级政务部长付海燕女士、西区校群督学谢吴曼珍女士,及上海复旦大学附属中学校长谢应平先生。开幕仪式在众多媒体和参与者的好评中圆满结束。

  • 2009

    叶华珠校长调任新加坡考试与评鉴研究与发展署署长。

  • 2010

    王梅凤女士接任校长。

    王梅凤校友继任校长。
     
    王校长毕业于新加坡国立大学,主修汉学及经济学,曾在裕廊高级中学担任华文老师。1997年,她获得汉学硕士学位;2002年在国家教育学院完成了教育领袖课程。
     
    王校长曾在南洋小学度过十年的教育生涯,分别于1999年至2002年担任副校长,于2002年至2009年担任校长。

  • 2011

    正式推出“21世纪试点教室”(这项计划着重探讨如何有效地促进一对一电脑教学。)

  • 2012

    南洋女子中学校倡议成立国际教育合作联盟(SAGE)。

  • 2013

    王秀芳女士正式被委任为南洋女子中学校董事会主席。黄美云女士则升任荣誉主席。

     

    南洋女子中学校荣获新加坡素质奖。

  • 2014

    南洋女子中学校发起并成立东南亚教育联盟(SEA2)。

  • 2015

    洪芳芳女士正式被委任为南洋女子中学校董事会主席。

  • 2017

    南中校舍扩建计划竣工。新校舍建有艺术表演中心和室内体育馆等设施。

地址

Milestones

  • 1917

    A Chinese school for girls, Nanyang Girls’ School was founded with about a hundred students.

    It occupied a shophouse at No. 7 Dhoby Ghaut. Lessons began on 15 August with a cohort of about 100 students. Mdm Yu Pei Gao was the first principal.

    If we look back at our historical records, interviews and related characters, without any doubt, Nanyang Girls’ High School was set up by a group of leaders from the United League of China (中国同盟会). These members comprised mostly of young and rich businessmen or intellectuals. With passion and patriotism, they initiated movements to change the fate of the country and these movements changed society.

    The first school principal of Nanyang Girls’ School was Mdm Yu Pei Gao. She graduated from Beijing Normal University (as it is known now) in 1911. Mdm. Yu firmly believed that a batch of good teachers was needed to set up a good school. She abandoned the tradition of forbidding male teachers in a girls’ school and hired male teachers. 

     

  • 1919

    The school upgraded to No. 10 Dhoby Ghaut.

  • 1927

    Mdm Liew Yuen Sien was appointed principal.

    Mdm Liew Yuen Sien was born in the Jiangxi Province in China. She was the only child of a rich family and a very independent lady with the determination and courage to pave a career on her own. After graduation from Hunan Changsha Fu Xiang Middle School (长沙福湘中 学), she taught at Xiang Tan San Yu School (湘潭三育学校). Thereafter, she departed for Beijing and studied at Yanjing University(燕京大学).

    Mdm Liew was a staunch supporter of women’s rights and freedom and matrimonial freedom. She felt that raising the level of education women received was important. These factors led her to establish Singapore Nanyang Girls’ School as a premier school in Singapore.

    In order to realise the school’s aim of providing girls with an equal opportunity for education across South East Asia and China, Mdm Liew would try her best to provide them with funding to continue with their schooling. The Nanyang family spirit was fostered in the background of these expectations. It was therefore no surprise that many alumni of the school remained loyal and often contributed to the school’s cause in education. Mdm. Liew would also often proudly proclaim: we are the top girls’ school in Singapore and Malaya. 

  • 1930

    The school was renamed “Nanyang Girls’ High School”.

  • 1931

    The move to King’s Road campus took place.

    The 3-3 school system was adopted (three years of junior middle school and three years of senior middle school).

  • 1934

    Kindergarten classes started.

    The school offered education for girls from kindergarten to high school level.

  • 1941

    The Pacific War broke out.

    The school was closed down and the building taken over for military use.

  • 1945

    The Japanese surrendered.

    The school started functioning again in December at the YMCA Building on Selegie Road.

    On 5 December, the school was officially open, with the end of the Japanese Occupation. It took around 2 months of hard work, starting from scratch, to successfully achieve the goals with tremendous efficiency. The alumni’s careful planning and selfless spirit of giving their all to the school are worthy of great respect and appreciation of future generations.

  • 1946

    The school moved back to the spacious campus at King's Road, and the number of students increased steeply.

    Our school mobilised our students to assist in the move back to King’s Road campus in June 1946. The students were elated to move the school signboard from Selegie Road to King’s Road.

    Panoramic view of King’s Road campus.

    About 1400 students had joined the school.

  • 1957

    The school became a government-aided school.

  • 1961

    The 4-2 school system was adopted (four years of secondary followed by two years of pre-university).

  • 1966

    Mdm Low Pei Kim became principal after Mdm Liew Yuen Sien retired.

    Mdm Low Pei Kim became the first alumnus to be appointed as the principal of the school.

    Mdm Low had served as the Disciplinary Mistress and Acting Principal of the school prior to her appointment.  In 1979, she was appointed Justice of Peace by President Benjamin Sheares.
    When Mdm Low passed away in 1994, the Low Pei Kim Bursary Fund was set up. This fund awards bursaries to students from financially-disadvantaged backgrounds and who excel academically.
     

     

  • 1976

    Mdm Chua Liang became principal after Mdm Low Pei Kim retired.

    Mdm Chua Liang is an alumnus.  In 1984, she was the recipient of the Public Administration Award from the President and given special mention for the excellent running of the school.

    In her 18 years as Principal, Mdm Chua oversaw many changes to the education system. She first initiated the Bilingual Education Policy (双语政策) and encouraged proficiency in both English and Mandarin so as to adapt to the changing times.

    Mdm Chua was also responsible for introducing new mediums of learning. These included setting up the Multimedia Information Centre (多媒体资料中心) and encouraging both students and teachers to actively source for and produce audiovisual material, promoting its use in learning

  • 1978

    The primary school was separated from the secondary school.

  • 1979

    The school was conferred status of a Special Assistance Plan school, offering both Chinese and English as first languages.

    Due to our strong focus on bilingualism and excellent academic track record, we were also selected as one of the nine Special Assistance Plan (SAP) schools.

    With the sponsorship of both the Ministry of Education and the Board of Directors, a well-equipped audio-visual resource centre was set up in the school.

    The school achieved laudable results after spending much time and effort on audio-visual production and development. The products designed by the teachers and students received many awards and commendations.

  • 1984

    The Art Elective Programme was offered.

  • 1993

    The school became an Independent School. Mrs Ong Teng Cheong was appointed Chairperson of the Board of Directors.

    The school officially became an independent school from 1 January 1993. New subjects that were beneficial to the intellectual development of our students were introduced. 

    Many scholarships were put in place to ensure students who came from low-income families were able to continue receiving education. Poor students who were able to meet the given criteria could apply and study in the school successfully.

    On 16th of September, the Singapore Press Holdings published the “Lee Kuan Yew: 40 Years of Political Views” and held its first book premiere this year. The Senior Minister Lee Kuan Yew personally autographed 30 special edition books and 150 hard cover books. These books were purchased by supporters of the school. Senior Minister Lee Kuan Yew further autographed 100 more hardcover books, helping the school raise $550 00 for the school’s development fund.  

    He said “Raising funds for Nanyang Girls’ High School is a very meaningful thing as Nanyang Girls’ High School is one of the top girls’ schools which developed into the top Special Assistance Plan girls’ school. This allows the good school culture, discipline and conduct of students of traditional Chinese schools to be preserved.”

    In the same year, Mrs Ong Teng Cheong was appointed Chairperson of the Board of Directors.  Her love for the school touched many and she was the architect of the present Nanyang Primary School, Nanyang Girls’ High School and the Nanyang Boarding School campuses.

  • 1995

    Mrs Ng-Gan Lay Choo became principal when Mdm Chua Liang retired.

    Mrs Ng-Gan Lay Choo, an alumnus, became the 12th principal of the school as well as the 3rd alumnus to have assumed this duty. 
     
    Mrs Ng-Gan studied physics at the University of Singapore and went on to specialize in Education at the National University of Singapore.  She was the vice-principal of Tanjong Katong Girls’ School and principal of Zhonghua Secondary School before she became the principal of her alma mater.

  • 1999

    The school became a centre for Gifted Education Programme.

    The school moved to the Linden Drive campus.
    Nanyang Girls' Boarding School was established. 
    Mdm Wee Bee Hoon was appointed Chairperson of the Board of Directors.

    The school became a Gifted Education Programme Centre. Two of the Secondary One classes comprising thirty-seven students were the first Gifted Education Programme (GEP) classes of the school.
     
    On 18th February, the new school campus finally stood proudly along Bukit Timah Road. The architectural design was grand and looked exceptionally beautiful at night with the lights turned on. Its grandeur and splendor won the admiration and praise of the onlookers.


    On 6th June, the walk to the new school campus at Linden Drive was flagged off by alumnus and First Lady Mrs. Ong Teng Cheong.  This walk was known as the “Walk of Ten Thousand” (万人行) and covered King’s Road, Lutheran Road, Coronation Road, Prince of Wales Road, Duchess Road, Bukit Timah Road, Dunearn Road and Linden Drive.  President Mr Ong Teng Cheong (王鼎昌) also graced this special occasion in his personal capacity.

    At the end of 1999, Mdm Wee Bee Hoon assumed the post of Board Chairlady. Mdm Wee, an alumnus of NYGH, was invited to join the Board of Directors as Assistant Treasurer in 1978.  She was elected as School Supervisor in 1979 and oversaw affairs concerning the three Nanyang schools. She took good care of the schools, investing much of her time and energy to her school supervisor duties. She had also made many donations to the building funds of the school. She was a role model, personally attending to all matters and was always present at all the school functions to lend her support to the school.

  • 2000

    The Linden Drive campus and boarding school were officially opened by Senior Minister Lee Kuan Yew. The 'O' Level Music Programme was first offered.

    During the Opening Ceremony of the school on 26 August, Guest of Honour, Senior Minister Lee Kuan Yew shared that his daughter, Dr Lee Wei Ling, an alumnus of Nanyang, had framed his understanding of NYGH as a school which nurtures students of character in a positive environment.  He commended the school as the most outstanding girls’ school under the Special Assistance Plan (SAP) and attributed the success to the sacrifices made by staff and the support given by members of public, especially the alumni. He gave tribute to alumnus Mrs Ong Teng Cheong, commenting that though Mrs Ong was the First Lady she saw to all the details of construction personally and donated generously, allowing the students of NYGH to enjoy such a beautiful campus.

     

  • 2001

    Mdm Mak Lai Ying became principal. Mrs Ng-Gan Lay Choo moved on to head a junior college.

    Mdm Mak Lai Ying succeeded Mrs Ng-Gan Lay Choo as the 13th principal of the school.
     
    Mdm Mak graduated from National University of Singapore in 1982.  In 1983, she received her diploma in education from London University and started her teaching career in Victoria Secondary School as a Mathematics and Economics teacher. She was Deputy Director of the National Education Branch at the ministry before her posting to head the school.

  • 2002

    The Higher Music Programme was offered. The 'O' Level Music Programme which set the foundation for HMP was offered in 2000.

  • 2004

    The Integrated Programme, in partnership with Hwa Chong Institution, was offered to 168 of the Secondary 3 students.

    In January 2004, NYGH officially started the Integrated Programme (IP), partnering The Chinese High School (Hwa Chong Institution).  What was unique about the IP was that students no longer needed to take the GCE ‘O’ levels examinations. Upon graduation from Secondary 4, the students will gain direct admission to Hwa Chong Junior College and take the GCE ‘A’ levels examinations there.
     
    Without the need for the ‘O’ levels, IP students would have more time and space to engage in more challenging tasks. Besides the core content subjects, the students would participate in various electives and exploratory activities to enrich their learning experience.
     
    Sabbaticals were introduced, with at least two weeks devoted to them annually. The aim of sabbaticals was to provide the students with opportunities to delve deeper into areas of their interest. Sabbaticals offered ranged from those related to academic subjects, such as Chinese, English, Mathematics, General Science, Chemistry, Life Science and Environmental Science, to areas outside the academic curriculum, like ancient Chinese Mathematics (中国古代数学), Animation, Bonsai, Film Appreciation, Gastronomy, Malay Culture, Song Composition and Traditional Chinese Arts (中国民间艺术).
     
    The school had also already established an overseas enrichment programme for the students, which was subsequently known as the Global Classroom Programme.

  • 2005

    The Integrated Programme was offered to all Secondary 1 students. The Bicultural Studies Programme (Chinese) was implemented.

    The school’s continued emphasis on a bilingual education for its students led to the introduction of the Chinese Language Elective Programme (CLEP) and the Bicultural Studies Programme [Chinese], both of which aim at cultivating students who are effectively bilingual and well immersed in both cultures.

     

  • 2006

    Miss Yap Wah Choo became principal as Mdm Mak Lai Ying moved on to head the Singapore International School in Hong Kong.

    The Superintendent of East 5, Miss Yap Wah Choo, became the 14th principal of the school. 
     
    Miss Yap completed her tertiary education at the former University of Singapore. She furthered her studies at the University of Pittsburgh and obtained a Master’s degree in educational research.  She was the Superintendent of East 5 before her appointment as the principal of the school.
     

  • 2007

    The last batch of 99 students sat for the GCE ‘O’ Level Examinations.

  • 2008

    The school became the West Zone Centre of Excellence (Chinese Studies and Culture).

    In 2008, the school was made the West Zone Centre of Excellence for Chinese Studies and Culture. To mark this occasion, the school, in partnership with Business China and with the support of the Ministry of Education, organised the 2nd SAP Seminar on 10 April, with Acting Minister of Manpower, Mr Gan Kim Yong, as Guest of Honour.
     
    In conjunction with the event, the school also hosted the inaugural Singapore-Shanghai Student Forum, involving all SAP schools as well as students and teachers from Shanghai. Among the distinguished guests were Senior Minister of State for Education, Ms Grace Fu, West Zone Schools Superintendent, Mrs Chia Ban Tin, and the Principal of Fudan High School in Shanghai, Mr Xie Yingping. The event was a success, with extensive coverage by the media and good reviews from all participants.

  • 2009

    Miss Yap Wah Choo moved on as Director of Assessment and Research Division, Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board (SEAB).

  • 2010

    Mdm Heng Boey Hong, an alumnus, joined the school as Principal.

    Mdm Heng majored in Chinese Studies and Economics from the National University of Singapore and joined Jurong Institute as a Chinese teacher.  She received her MA in Chinese Studies in 1997 and attended the Leadership in Education Programme by the National Institute of Education in 2002.
     
    Mdm Heng spent 10 years in Nanyang Primary School, as the vice-principal from 1999 to 2002 and the principal from 2002 to 2009, before she joined the school.

  • 2011

    Prototype 21st Century Class (a programme aimed at enhancing teaching and learning through 1-1 computing) was launched.

  • 2012

    NYGH initiated the formation of the Strategic Alliance of Global Educators (SAGE).

  • 2013

    Mdm Ong Sioe Hong was appointed the Chairperson of the Board of Directors. Mdm Wee Bee Hoon became the Honorary Chairperson.

     

    The school was conferred the Singapore Quality Award (SQA).

  • 2014

    NYGH initiated the formation of the Strategic Educational Alliance of Southeast Asia (SEA2).

  • 2015

    Ms Ang Fung Fung was appointed Chairperson of the Board of Directors.

  • 2017

    NYGH completed its building extension project. The new extension comprises a Performing Arts Centre Wing and an Indoor Sports Hall Wing.

LOCATION