Architecture Transformation

The façade of Nanyang Girls' High School has rapidly become an iconic landmark in the Bukit Timah area of Singapore. Tall pink-brick walls and majestic columns symetrically arranged around a towering clocktower. Yet, hiding inside the building are many more interesting architectual features.

This page is a visual journey of the architecture and spaces that help to define Nanyang. An exploration of the changing face of the buildings: Past, present and future.

Nanyang Girls' High School was first established as Nanyang Girls’ School, on 15 August 1917. The first campus was located at  No. 7 Dhoby Ghaut. The first intake of 100 consisted of primary one students and student-teachers on a two-year training course. The training course was equivalent to the secondary school level, to train female primary school teachers locally.

To accommodate the increasing enrolment, in 1919, the school moved to No. 10, a two-storey bungalow at the southern foot of Mount Sophia. In the eleven years at this campus, Nanyang cultivated many students proficient in sports and performing arts.

Today, Nanyang has expanded into three well-established institutions: Nanyang Girls’ High School, Nanyang Primary School and Nanyang Kindergarten. The year 2017 marked the centennial of the Nanyang Family of Schools. May the Nanyang Family continue to grow and shine. 


Heritage

View in full screen mode

 

Main Campus

View in full screen mode

 

Latest Edition



View in full screen mode

LOCATION